Hooper
Find it at your local bookseller or order online:
Amazon.com
Barnes & Noble
Indiebound
BACK TO BOOKS
Hooper
ISBN 978-0062453112

From Geoff Herbach, the critically acclaimed author of the Stupid Fast series, comes a compelling new YA novel about basketball, prejudice, privilege, and family, perfect for fans of Jordan Sonnenblick, Andrew Smith, and Matt de la Peña.

For Adam Reed, basketball is a passport. Adam’s basketball skills have taken him from an orphanage in Poland to a loving adoptive mother in Minnesota. When he’s tapped to play on a select AAU team along with some of the best players in the state, it just confirms that basketball is his ticket to the good life: to new friendships, to the girl of his dreams, to a better future.

But life is more complicated off the court. When an incident with the police threatens to break apart the bonds Adam’s finally formed after a lifetime of struggle, he must make an impossible choice between his new family and the sport that’s given him everything.

Reviews and Testimonials
“Funny, gut-wrenching, and spilling over with heart, Hooper is an uplifting breath of joy, and gives us all cause to be hopeful. I loved it!”
Hooper is a slam dunk! A sports novel with incredible action and tons of heart. I challenge you not to fall in love with these terrific, flawed characters, and just try to put this one down once you start. Impossible.”
“In pages stuffed full of breathtaking basketball, powerful girls, hard discussions, and one struggling boy named Adam Sobieski who you will fall madly in love with and cheer for, Herbach gifts us a story about the messiness of life and the importance of talking about it--ultimately showing us how to not only trudge through it, but to soar.”
Acknowledgments (from Hooper)
First of all, thank you to my agent, Jim McCarthy. It feels like I’ve grown up with you, Jim. Thanks to my editor, Ben Rosenthal. There aren’t exactly truckloads of Midwestern sports fans in this business. I’m so, so lucky to be with you. Thank you to Jason Darcy for reading an early draft and for knowing way too much about basketball (someone needs to publish your eighty-page screed on the history and societal implications of moving screens in today’s professional game). Thank you to Nicole Overton for reading a draft in the middle of the process, for catching what I couldn’t see well. For catching what I should’ve clearly seen, but didn’t. For just generally helping Hooper so much.
Thanks to my maternal Grandpa, Oscar, for leaving Eastern Europe when people were getting killed. He farmed in Minnesota. Worked in factories in Iowa. He and Grandma Elinor made a good life for his family. They made my amazing, adventurous mom. Thanks to my paternal Grandma, Yvonne, for fleeing Belgium right ahead of the Nazis. She went first to Brazil. She ended up in New York, where she made a good life working as a translator for everything from cookbooks to bank contracts. She learned a lot of languages while moving across the globe. Thanks to my dad, Max, who, as a baby, sat in the arms of the S.S. while my grandparents were interrogated. He got to Brazil, flunked math in 8th grade, went to an American school, and ended up immigrating to the U.S. when he was eighteen. Thank you to everyone who welcomed my family with open arms.
For Hooper, I feel especially indebted to the following authors and their books. Sherman Alexie for Absolutely True Diary of a Part-time Indian. Jason Reynolds and Brandon Kiely for All American Boys. Tamika Catchings for Catch a Star. Alice Goffman for On the Run. J.D. Vance for Hillbilly Elegy. Ta Nehisi Coates for Between the World and Me.
Read many books and you will see deeply into many lives. You will be a better person for it. That’s a pretty good reason to read books.
Website copyright © 2012- Geoff Herbach. All rights reserved.
Photos and text on this website may not be re-used electronically or in print without permission.